Faculty Resources

As a faculty member you are a part of the success of honors. We have compiled resources to help you refer students to the University Honors Program and enhance your courses.

The Honors Program depends on faculty to deliver exceptional educational experiences to students. As such, the authority to design and evaluate Honors coursework, including in-course contracts and senior capstones, rests with faculty experts.

If you know of an outstanding undergraduate student interested in joining the University Honors Program, please encourage the student to schedule an appointment with an honors advisor.

In-Course Contracts (ICC's) are agreements between students and faculty that allow Honors credit when enrolled in a regular section of a course. ICC requests are processed online through OnBase. Students can submit their ICC applications online. Applications are due by the Sunday after week two of the semester in which the ICC is undertaken.

Faculty and department chairs can refer to the ICC approval process flowchart.

Informational Videos

Senior Capstone thesis projects are 3 credit-hour courses, usually done in the last semester of an Honors student's undergraduate career. Faculty advise students on a one-to-one basis as they conduct original research, artistry, or some other high-level project representative of excellent scholarship. Advising faculty must approve students' initial capstone proposals as well as their final drafts.

Capstone proposal forms are due by the Sunday after Week #2 of the semester. The Senior Honors Capstone Proposal must be submitted online at go.niu.edu/honorscapstone. Students must attend a Capstone Information Session in the virtually in Blackboard or in the Honors classroom to receive the required submission and proposal information; a Capstone Information Session Schedule is available for download.

Capstone final submissions are due by the Sunday before finals (at 11:59 p.m. CT). Capstone templates used in the final submission are available for download.

The University Honors Center in Campus Life Building 110 offers meeting and classroom space options:

  • Capstone library
    • Seats about 12 around a seminar table
  • Large classroom/small classroom
    • Movable wall allows space to be adjusted to fit smaller or larger groups
    • Equipped with smart classroom technology

To reserve space please call 815-753-0694 or email honors@niu.edu.

The University Honors Committee is comprised of faculty, administrators and students to advise, evaluate and make recommendations to the University Honors Program. To inquire about becoming a member please call 815-753-0694 or email honors@niu.edu.

University Honors Great Professor Award Recipients

This annual, university-wide award recognizes NIU faculty and staff for their leadership, dedication and service to the University Honors Program.

  • 2022 - Melanie Koss
  • 2021 - Valerie Garver
  • 2020 - David Ballantine
  • 2019 - Andrea Radasanu
  • 2018 - Leslie Sassone
  • 2017 - Bart Sharp
  • 2016 - Masih Shokrani
  • 2015 - Madelyn Kerbach Anderson and Tim Pierce
  • 2014 - Nicholas Pohlman
  • 2013 - Tim Ryan
  • 2012 - Rebecca Houze
  • 2011 - Dennis Barsema
  • 2010 - Nancy Castle
  • 2009 - Jason Hawke
  • 2008 - Christopher Jones
  • 2007 - Judy Santacaterina
  • 2006 - Steve Franklin
  • 2005 - Carol Demoranville
  • 2004 - Thomas Roberts
  • 2003 - Gary Glenn
  • 2002 - Nancy Nuzzo
  • 2001 - C. Daniel Dillman

Contact Us

University Honors Program 
Peters Campus Life Building 110
DeKalb, IL 60115


Connect with us on